Synods of the
United Reformed Church

The United Reformed Church is made up of 13 Synods. On this map, Mersey Synod is number 3. Our Synod is the smallest geographically, covering Merseyside, Cheshire and West Lancashire, and the Isle of Man.

There are over 70 churches in the Synod, from Wigan to Winsford,  and Southport to St Helens. The people of all those churches make up the Synod. 

The Synod's decision making body, the Synod Meeting, is made up of representatives of the churches, together with their Ministers, who join together for two main meetings per year.

The churches are served by a team of people led by the Moderator.

For information about URC Mersey Synod meetings click here.

For information about URC Mersey Synod structures click here.